Central Philippine University

By Karren Jay Asgar

Four Centralians emerged victorious as finalists in the search for The Outstanding Students of Iloilo Awards (TOSIA) 2024, spearheaded by JCI Regatta. The Facebook page of TOSIA released the results last May 7, 2024.

After a rigorous selection process, Centralians awardees who have qualified for TOSIA 2024 are Robby Marvyn R. Arnillo, from the Junior High School Department; Anthony B. Lorca, Jennifer Erika P. Angeles, and Gazelle Faith G. Boko, all from the College of Arts and Sciences. They underwent and passed a thorough online bid screening, essay writing challenge, and interview rounds. Also, they were able to showcase their achievements and prowess in line with the 4 Pillars of TOSIA: Academic Excellence, Leadership, Community Involvement, and Faith.

Arnillo is the Secretary of the CPU’s Republic League of Governors, the Boy City Councilor of the Boys’ and Girls’ Week Celebration, and the Governor of the CPU Junior High School Student Council. Lorca, a 4th year Social Work student, is the Vice President for External Affairs of the Junior Social Workers Association of the Philippine-CPU Chapter, Vice President of the Sangguniang Kabataan Municipal Federation-Maasin, and SK Chairperson of Barangay THT&P Maasin, Iloilo. Angeles, on the other hand, is also a 4th year Social Work student and the former President of the CPU Republic League of Governors, SK Chairman of Barangay Macatol, Maasin, Voice of the Youth Outstanding Volunteer, and Jose Rizal Outstanding Student Model of the Philippines. Meanwhile, Boko, a 4th year Psychology student, is the Vice President of CPU-Psychological Society, Team Leader of Mental Health Advocate-CPU, an entrepreneur, and Vice President of Sangguniang Kabataan of Municipal Federation-Estancia.

TOSIA 2024 aims to recognize student leaders who excel in the four pillars of creating positive change. The annual search for outstanding students is held in partnership with the Department of Education Iloilo and Iloilo City Divisions and the Commission on Higher Education Region 6.