Central Philippine University

By Karren Jay G. Asgar

Winner of the CPU Global Reunion Souvenir Program Cover Design Contest.

The Central Philippine University Alumni Association of Greater Toronto Area (CPUAAGTA) awarded its winners in the recently concluded 2025 CPU Global Reunion Souvenir Program Cover Design Contest with the theme “’Central Spirit’ and Keeping it Aflame”. The awarding took place at the Alumni Affairs Office last March 13, 2024.

First place was garnered by Collyn Maxie Rose T. Moscoso, a BS Biology–4 student under the College of Arts and Sciences. For her, she wanted to portray the “Centralian Pride” through her design and to be able to bring such pride around the world. “I went for the globe and space background to show that our Centralian Family is everywhere, and I also incorporated the University Church and a bird flying above it to symbolize how our spirit spreads worldwide,” she stated.

“I want to dedicate this achievement to the individuals who have supported and inspired me along the way. To my friends and family who believed in my creativity and encouraged me, thank you for always being there. Additionally, I’m grateful for the guidance and feedback from my friends. Lastly, I’m grateful to God for blessing me with this opportunity and talent,” she added.

The cover design should be an original concept, does not resemble any existing published or copyrighted work, and must be geared towards the theme. The prizes for the winning entries are P5,000.00 (1st prize), P3,000.00 (2nd prize), and P1,000.00 (3rd prize).

The judges of the said contest were Meriam Amy (President), Norma VanDusen (Board of Director), Edwin Arroz (Chapter Adviser), Faith Hope Gicana (Assistant PRO), Jun Faldas (Board of Director), and Rod Gonzales (Board of Director) of the Central Philippine University Alumni Association of Greater Toronto Area (CPUAAGTA).

The other winners, Era Joy Deduro (2nd place), Jody Luck Demafiles (3rd place), Abigail C. Panizales (4th place), and Joshua J. Amihan (5th place) are duly recognized by the said association for their participation in the said event.