Central Philippine University

By Florenz Dean Cojuangco

CEBU CITY – The Central Philippine University-College of Medicine excelled at the 12th APMC-SN Visayas Regional Convention, held on April 4–6, 2024, hosted by UV Gullas College of Medicine and Cebu Doctor’s University. CPU ColMed demonstrated outstanding accomplishments, emerging victorious in three academic championships: Medical Quiz Bee, Healthcare Innovations Competition, and Translational/Clinical Science Research. They also secured the 1st runner-up spot in the Interscholastic Debate and were recognized as a top 5 finalist in the Basic Science Research Category. Katrina Tumaneng’s standout performance earned her the Best Speaker award in Translational Research. The school’s Clinicopathologic Conference team also got a chance to present during the competition.

In the Mr. and Ms. APMC-SN Visayas 2024 segment, Ava Victoria Liwag was crowned Miss APMC-SN Visayas 2024, and Joseph Angelo Pabalinas clinched 1st runner-up for Mr. APMC-SN Visayas 2024. Both shone in additional categories, winning ‘Best in Production Number’, with Pabalinas also bagging ‘Best in School Uniform’, and Liwag bagging ‘Best in Advocacy’.

Not stopping there, CPU ColMed also emerged victorious in Palarong Pinoy and became champions in two out of the three games. With a strong representation of 40 delegates, CPU ColMed had the largest delegation at the convention. They were supported and accompanied by respected faculty members, including Dr. Henry Gonzales, Dean of the College of Medicine, and Dr. Ma. Nemia Lizada, Dr. Agnes Gerasmo, and Dr. Jesus Eugenio De Jesus.

Adding to their accolades, the CPU ColMed and Medical Student Council (22-23) led by former Governor Mark Ang was honored with the Gold Award for Good Governance. Likewise, their efforts in hosting last year’s regional convention earned them the ‘Project of the Year Award’. Furthermore, they achieved 2nd place for the Conventions Committee (headed by Mr. Paolo Peñaflor Guisadio) and secured 1st place for the Academic Committee (headed by Ms. Sofia Abenir).

These commendations highlight CPU ColMed’s commitment to excellence across academic, organizational, and leadership spheres, marking their performance at the regional convention as a remarkable feat.

On behalf of the CPU-COM, the MSC would like to extend our heartfelt gratitude to the following coaches, mentors, and supporters who were instrumental in this success. Your efforts have not gone unnoticed, and we are grateful for the opportunity to represent our institution with pride and distinction:

  • Henry Gonzales, Dean of the College of Medicine
  • Diadem Pearl Equina, Associate Dean of the College of Medicine
  • Ma. Nemia Lizada, MSC Adviser and HCI Coach
  • Suzette Labrador, Quiz Bee Coach
  • Felice Garingalao-Molina, Quiz Bee Coach
  • Euniel Solinap, Medical Research Coach
  • Agnes Segunda Gerasmo, Medical Research Coach
  • Jesus Eugenio Gene De Jesus, Debate Competition Coach
  • Epifania A. Jinon, Debate Competition Coach
  • Ramon Guelos, Debate Competition Coach
  • Andrea Lozada Paderes, Dr. April Joy Monsale, Dr. Mary Grace Gonzales, Dr. Al Chin, Dr. Judee Grace Fernandez, Dr. Blessing Dilla, Dr. Stephanie Abello, and Dr. Lysa Lynn Uy-Libanan , CPC Coaches/Mentors
  • Remo Jr Benliro, Mr and Ms APMC – SN Coach

Special thanks to the following:

  • Jasper Ruby Vijar– Mr and Ms APMC-SN Q&A Coach
  • Karl Lao- Medical Quiz Bee Coach
  • Dereck Anthony Buenaflor Agrasada – CPC Coach
  • Earl Sevilla – CPC Coach
  • Lysander Quintia – CPC Coach
  • Jaybee Tordesillas- CPC Coach
  • Mark Ang – CPC Coach
  • Eljenmer Sindo- Debate Coach
  • John Patrick Octavio, Yen Javellona and Roy Angelo V. Malaluan – Quiz Bee Coordinators
  • Grasiella Leonoras and Lois Victoriano – HCI Coordinators
  • Thalea Aira Draper- Translational Research Coordinator
  • Krizzia Camille Alarcon Espina (Lead Coordinator), Mike Angelo V. Dolinog, MJ Lee, Lois Victoriano, Ruby Espino, Yen Javellona, Sherry Joy Rapadas – Mr. and Ms. APMC-SN 2024 Team
  • Dean Reed Pedrita and Lowela Apura – Debate Coordinators
  • Raifalene Velez Moon and Febreylen Jagolino – Basic Science Research Coordinators
  • Jarah Lego and Sherry Rapadas – CPC Coordinators
  • Angel Claire Songculan, Bernardino Umali, Christian Emil Solas, Jas Merain Fabello, Zsareena Bianca Repiano Zabala, Danessa Simoy, and Raifalene Velez – CPC Researchers
  • Leyza Boston, Debate and CPC Team
  • CPU-COM Admin: Mam Nors, Mam Jai, Mam Jhoan, Mam Sheena, Sir Aurelio, and Sir Kyle

A special thank you to the MSC BM for Logistics, Mariella Draper, and Marz Draper for going above and beyond just to make ends meet, and make sure that all the delegates are taken care of. CPU’s Regcon participation and success wouldn’t have been possible without you.

Huge congratulations also to the CPU-COM APMC Reps:

  • APMC-SN CPU Senior Rep: Ruby Espino
  • APMC-SN CPU Junior Rep: Yen Javellona

A big thanks also to the batch mayors: Mayor Jarah Lego (3rd year), Mayor Marie Pauline Abonador (2nd year), and Mayor Mike Dolinog (1st year). As well as to Batches VitaS, OmVi, and ApSa for your steadfast support.

Congratulations Central Philippine University-College of Medicine! All for Central!