Select Page

By Rusieljs G. Lunasco

Candidates for the Search for Grand Alumni Homecoming Queen 2020.

The CPU Grand Alumni Homecoming 2020 celebration capped off with a Gala Night at the Grand Xing Imperial Hotel on Friday, February 7, 2020.

In his welcome remarks, Grand Alumni Homecoming Steering Committee Co-Chair and CPUAAI Outgoing President Engr. Isagani Jalbuena thanked the alumni for their support for Central Philippine University. He also acknowledged the working committees during the Alumni Homecoming. “To all members of the different committees, we acknowledge your hard work and patience. Thank you for your commitment until the very end,” he said.

During the event, Incoming Officers of CPU FOAAI 2021-2022 were inducted by CPU President Dr. Robles.

GMA-7 Balladeer Christian Bautista with the head of  CPU Purchasing Office Mrs. Hermely A. Jalando-on.

14 candidates of the Search for the Grand Alumni Homecoming Queen presented their respective projects for the colleges and departments they represented. Ms. Nursing Edna Pelopero (BSN’ 78) was crowned Grand Alumni Homecoming Queen 2020. The College of Nursing was able to raise an amount of P 4,326,100 for the completion of the Virtual Lab Phase II.

Honorary Centralian Jose Mari Chan serenades CPU Alumni Homecoming Queen 2020 Ms. Edna Pelopero.

Singer-songwriter and honorary Centralian Jose Mari Chan also graced the event and serenaded the Alumni Queen and her court. The gala night also saw performances from GMA star and balladeer Christian Bautista and the CPU Handbell Ringers (the only 5-octave handbell choir in the country), Totong Villaruz Band, and Dr. Jesse Penacerrada.

Dr. Robles thanked everyone for the success of the Grand Alumni Homecoming.  “We thank God for bringing us here to reconnect, to reminisce the past and rejoice for what we have become and what our alma mater has done to our lives,” he said.  “This celebration is about you, and our alma mater,” he added.

Incoming officers of the CPUFOAA during their Induction Ceremony.

The next Grand Alumni Homecoming in 2022 will be in Toronto, Canada.

Here are the CPUFOAAI Incoming Officers (Effective 1/1/2021 until 12/31/2022):

President: Rod Gonzales (CPUAAGTA)

First VP: May Celiz Rogers

2nd VP – US: Manuel de la Fuente

2nd VP – Canada: Rose Abellie Nunez Buensuceso (CPUAAGTA)

2nd VP – Europe: None

2nd VP – Australasia: Joseph Beloria

2nd VP – Middle East/Africa: Vilma Nono Clave

Regional VP –

Region 1: Arlene Poblador

Region 2: None

Region 3: Lilian Jardo Lau

Region 4: None

Region 5: Louise Vail

Region 6: Vic Penacerrada

Region 7: Emma Barrido

Region 8: Sid Emmanuel

Region 9: Christine Lopez Daquiado (CPUAAGTA)

Region 10: Leynebel Leysa Senodo

Corporate Secretary: Faith Ramos (CPUAAGTA)

Asst. Corporate Secretary: Helen Supremo Castromayor

Corporate Treasurer: Melba Debulgado Corporate

Auditor: Lee Plagata

Board of Directors: At Large –

Easter Arora

Edwin Frank Arroz (CPUAAGTA)

Rick Falco (CPUAAGTA)

Erlinda Galanto

Pio Go

Yolanda Penacerrada Jain

Helen Lebiga

Webmaster: Rodney Gicana (CPUAAGTA)

Developed by Virtual Byte IT Solutions